Edamame and Mint Dip


Edamame and Mint Dip

Edamame and Mint Dip

I bought an edamame and mint dip in an English supermarket to take with us on our cruise on the Norfolk Broads. I enjoyed it so much, I kept the packaging so I could attempt to recreate it at home. I bought pre-cooked, frozen edamame pods at an Asian grocer in Perth and the rest of the ingredients are stuff we always have on hand.

The wind here in Streaky Bay today would blow a dog off its chain, so with no fishing for us, I thought I’d give the dip a go. I reckon my version is waaaay better than the commercial one we bought, so I’m blogging the recipe so I don’t forget about it.

Apart from being a relatively healthy and very tasty dip, I reckon it would be great on boiled spuds or as a different dressing over a potato salad. We’re having it tonight over the boiled spuds with fish and a salad.

Edamame and Mint Dip

    • 450g packet frozen, cooked edamame pods, defrosted, shelled
    • 1 cup frozen green peas, defrosted
    • 1 420 g can cannellini beans, drained
    • 1/4 cup low fat Greek Yoghurt
    • 1/4 cup sour cream
    • 1/4 cup light cream cheese
    • Good pinch of salt
    • Good grinding of black pepper
    • 1 teaspoon crushed garlic
    • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
    • 2 teaspoons lime juice
    • 1/2 teaspoon dried mint (I would use fresh but dried is what I had. You can use more if you really like mint)

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients in a large bowl, crush with a potato masher
  2. Process with a stick blender until smooth, but still with a bit of texture
  3. Drizzle with a little olive oil (mine was garlic and chilli) and sprinkle with a little mint.
One thought on “Edamame and Mint Dip

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

