Hot tubs and cormorant eggs


Cormorant Eggs

Cormorant Eggs


This morning, Russ and I finally got out to one of our favourite places a visit to Denham and Shark Bay always includes-the artesian hot tub (well, it’s an old concrete tank really) at the old Peron Station Homestead. We organised a brunch of bacon and eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms, packed the kettle, coffee and milk (there’s a power point, but you have to hold the kettle up to it while it boils) and off we went.

Windmill Peron Homestead

Windmill Peron Homestead

We usually have a good long soak, then cook breakfast, but the tub had been emptied and cleaned just before we arrived so we ate first, then soaked, took some photos of the old shearing shed and camp kitchen, and soaked some more.
Selfie in the hot tub

Selfie in the hot tub

How lovely to not only have it to ourselves, but to be the first to use it for the week! Our concession card gets us into the national park for $6 so we could have driven on to Point Peron for the day (which we have other years), but I think it’s still excellent value just to go use the tub and super clean bbqs and come home. Back at home, Russ picked and froze yesterdays crabs while I cleaned up some cormorant eggs I was given and got ready to make a cake.

The local Aboriginal community here have the right to collect cormorant eggs, and as the friend of a friend of somebodies, I was on the receiving end of a few eggs. I was told they are good soft or hard boiled, or scrambled, but I’m actually a bit of a chicken (no pun intended) when it comes to trying unknown food for the first time. Once I’ve had a tiny taste and survived, I’m fine and some of my favourite foods have been found this way (I’m thinking squid, prawns, avocados etc.)  Russ on the other hand will eat anything.

Cormorant Eggs

Cormorant Eggs

Not wanting to waste the eggs and therefore be ungrateful, I decided to find and modify  a recipe I knew I could eat and enjoy them in-Lemon Syrup Cake. Not only am I using cormorant eggs, but limes I bought all those weeks ago in Carnarvon (Mrs Morel TOLD me they’d last for ever in a zip lock baggy in the fridge!)

Once I tuck into that cake, It’ll be plain sailing when someone makes scrambled cormorant eggs for me.

Lime Syrup Loaf

For the Cake

  • ½ cup softened butter (the recipe calls for unsalted butter,but I used salted)
  • ½ cup castor sugar
  • 2 hens eggs (or 3 cormorant eggs if you have them)
  • Zest of 2 limes
  • 1 cup self raising flour
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons yoghurt (recipe asked for 4 tbsp buttermilk so the milk and yoghurt replaced it
    Lime Syrup Cake

    Lime Syrup Cake

    )

For the syrup

  • Juice of 1 lime
  • ½ cup icing sugar (I had to use regular sugar)

Method

  1. Butter and line the loaf pan well.
  2. Preheat oven to 180c
  3. Cream together butter and castor sugar together until fluffy
  4. Add the lime zest and the eggs, beating them in well
  5. Add the flour then mix in the milk and yoghurt
  6. Spoon the batter into the prepared loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes, until the cake has risen in the middle and is lightly golden in colour.
  7. While the cake is baking, prepare the syrup. Put the lime juice and icing sugar in a small saucepan and heat gently so that the sugar dissolves.
  8. As soon as the cake is out of the oven, puncture the top of the loaf all over with a skewer. Pour the syrup evenly all over the cake.
  9. Leave the cake to cool completely before serving.
  10. This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Hot tubs and cormorant eggs

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

