Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad


Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad

Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad

It was a windy morning, so after a luxury breakfast of perfectly ripe Carnarvon avocado and tomatoes on toast, I suggested to Russ we head out for a drive. I wanted to take some photos so he packed a rod and a few prawns to fish for whiting off the beach. I hate fishing off the beach for some reason, much preferring to be out on the water in any sized boat. As it turned out, I had more success with my photos than Russ did with his fishing lol.

We got in late for lunch so I decided it was the right day to make a Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot salad I’ve been planning to do for a while. I saw a recipe recently for something similar using rollmops and thought it’d be work with our home done stuff. The recipe I saw used green apple and dill leaves-I had neither so used an original dill pickle instead-giving me a bit of crunch and a subtle dill flavour. We pickle our own fish, so I have no idea what the weight of the fish I used was. I used a 340g salsa jar of it for the two of us. With us being late home, I used tinned potatoes-normally I would cook my own, but the tinned were fine.

After lunch we went fishing out the front amongst the moored fishing boats. Yesterday we caught at least 40 undersized pink snapper (about 6 were getting close) there, today I didn’t lose a bait!

Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad

  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup yoghurt
  • 1 tablespoon prepared horseradish
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fish pickling juice
  • 2 potatoes, diced, cooked, cooled (or cheat and use canned baby potatoes)
  • Pickled fish, enough for two, cut into bite sized pieces (that’s how we pickle ours)
  • 1 400g can baby beets, rinsed, quartered
  • 1 small red onion, sliced fine, or use some of the onion you pickled the fish with
  • 1 dill pickle (not a gherkin) diced fairly small
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley or dill leaves
Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad

Pickled Fish, Potato and Beetroot Salad

Method

  1. Combine the sour cream, yoghurt, horseradish, lemon juice, salt and pepper and enough pickling juice to thin the dressing a little.
  2. Mix the remaining ingredients gently together in a bowl, fold through the dressing and serve.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

