Middle Eastern Style Spiced Stuffed Eggplant


Middle Eastern Style Stuffed Eggplant

Middle Eastern Style Stuffed Eggplant

I actually wanted to have Fish Tacos again tonight but our avocados bought at Morels in Carnarvon will take a few days to ripen. So I decided to stuff one of our gorgeous big, fat, fresh, shiny eggplants bought at one of the plantations on South Road for $1 instead. The chillis and parsley were also bought at the farm gate. I didn’t have a recipe, but did have a fair idea what would work.

My recipe is just for two but would be pretty easy to double. If you don’t have Ras El Hanout-google it it’s pretty easy to make your own, and if you don’t have the harissa once again you can make it, or just use chilli instead. My harissa would blow your brains out so I use it quite sparingly.

Middle Eastern Style Spiced Stuffed Eggplant

  • 1 large eggplant, halved then most of the middle scooped out leaving a shell about 1 inch(2.5cm) thick. Reserve the scooped out flesh, chop well
  • 1 tablespoon oil, plus extra to brush the eggplant shell before baking
  • 250g mince (I always use heart smart)
  • 1 small onion finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed (we love garlic)
  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts (you could toast them but I don’t bother)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons Ras El Hanout
  • 1/2 teaspoon harissa
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste (not sure this is very authentic but I like it)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 2 tablespoons flat leaf parsley
  • 2 tablespoons water
Middle Eastern Style Stuffed Eggplant

Middle Eastern Style Stuffed Eggplant

Yoghurt Sauce

  • 1 cup natural yoghurt (I use low fat Greek Style
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 teaspoon dried mint flakes (all I had)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • minced chilli to taste

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 190c
  2. Brush the eggplant shells with extra olive oil, place on a baking tray and cook in the oven about 30 minutes or until well softened but not collapsed.
  3. While the eggplant is cooking, get on with the rest.
  4. Mix all the Yoghurt Sauce ingredients together and pop in the fridge.
  5. Heat the oil and cook the mince and onion until the onion is softened. Add the garlic and cook stirring a couple of minutes more.
  6. Add the pine nuts and stir about 5 minutes or until you see some/most of the pine nuts browning.
  7. Add the salt, Ras El Hanout and harissa and stir another minute. Stir through the tomato paste and cook a further minute or two, then add the lemon juice and reserved eggplant pulp.
  8. Cook, stirring for about 10 minutes over a medium heat. Add a little water if the meat seems too dry.
  9. When the eggplant shells are done, pile the meat mix into them and serve with the Yoghurt Sauce.

We served ours with couscous which went well with it all.

3 thoughts on “Middle Eastern Style Spiced Stuffed Eggplant

  1. janandrussroundoz Post author

    You’d laugh Joanne-this is only the second time I’ve ever stuffed an eggplant. The first I was a new (and very young bride). I made a bolognaisse, stuffed my raw eggplant and we couldn’t eat it. The dog wouldn’t eat it either. 39 years later, I precooked my eggplant and was rapt with the end result!

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

