Fish Tacos


Fish Tacos

Fish Tacos

I’d heard of fish tacos, but never taken much notice until I googled them and thought we might actually enjoy them. Next I asked a group I belong to on FB for their opinions on what made a good fish taco, took the bits I liked the best and came up with my own tonight.
I made the salsa, sauce and cabbage, Russ panko-crumbed our fish. With the accompaniments organised, Russ fried the tortillas and kept them warm, then cooked the fish. We each assembled our own tacos. Mega yummy food!

Fish Tacos

  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill leaves (dried)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup panko crumbs
  • Fish fillets, enough for two
  • 4 white corn tortillas
  • oil
  • finely shredded cabbage to serve

Salsa

  • 1 large tomato, diced small
  • 1 small avocado, diced small
  • 2 tablespoons finely diced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh coriander
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • salt to taste
Accompaniments

Accompaniments

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use light egg)
  • 1/2 cup natural yoghurt (I use low fat Greek style)
  • juice half a lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 chilli (jalapeno if you have it), minced 

Method

  1. Prepare the sauce mixing all the ingredients together.
  2. Shred the cabbage.
  3. Make the salsa mixing all the ingredients together.
  4. Mix the flour, spices and salt and pepper, put in a bag and add the fish fillets toss to coat.
  5. Dip the fillets in the egg, then coat each fillet lightly in the panko crumbs.
  6. Heat the oil in a pan, fry each tortilla until they bubble, remove and keep warm in a tea towel while you cook the rest.
  7. Fry the fish fillets until golden and cooked through.

Assemble
Break a fish fillet into biggish bits,top with salsa, then cabbage and lastly sauce.

Fish Tacos

Fish Tacos

4 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

  1. janandrussroundoz Post author

    They were so good Joanne I’d like them for dinner tonight (but am stuffing eggplant instead). It seems to me, you can use battered, crumbed or grilled fish in them but crumbed being one of my favourites was the way I chose to go xx

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

