Cerviche


Cerviche

Cerviche

Always on the lookout for new fish recipes, I decided as we love pickled fish so much, it was time to make my own fish cerviche. I’ve eaten it made by my good friend Chris Whitmore years ago, and I’ve eaten yabby cerviche, but never made my own.

I looked at a few recipes, then took what I liked from them to make my own version-some used avocado and that would be nice, but at $6 each here, it was never going to happen, some used capsicum (bell pepper) but that texture seemed wrong. My daughter-in-law put me onto Ayam coconut milk powder (as opposed to the tinned stuff we usually buy). It’s cheaper and I can make up smaller batches, control the strength (milk or cream) and can add it direct to curries where I want a coconut flavour.

Reduced Coconut Milk

Reduced Coconut Milk

Marinating Charlie

Marinating Charlie

We caught a number of fish yesterday, but decided our favourite Charlie Court Cod would be good for this. It’s a lovely sweet flavoured, delicate fish, but small and not so easy to deal with. Russ does deal with it though as we’ve yet to find a fish we reckon has better flavour or texture. Most recipes said the fish should come from the fishmonger as fresh as possible. We caught these yesterday but over the years have decided that fish rested in the fridge for 24 hours seems to be the best. Some might argue, but that’s how we like it. Charlie fillets are only small so I just cut into squares (rather than cubes as you would with a fatter fillet) and marinated for 1.5 hours. It worked really well in that time.

Cerviche

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 6 mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 200g white fish, diced into 1cm chunks
  • 1 red chilli, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced length-ways (julienned)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 small bunch coriander (pick the leaves off)
  • (optional and would add if cost was better) 1 small avocado, diced
Cerviche

Cerviche

Method

  1. Put the coconut milk in a small pan over a low heat, and reduce by half. Drop in the mint leaves, cool then remove the mint leaves and discard.
  2. Place the diced fish in a non reactive (glass or ceramic) dish and pour over the lime juice. Refrigerate for between 1/2 hour (rare) to 3 hours (well done).
  3. Pour off most of the lime juice and discard, then add the coconut milk and other ingredients-check the salt and sugar is in balance then serve garnished with coriander and/or mint sprigs.

Serves 2

Luscious Limes

Luscious Limes

7 thoughts on “Cerviche

  1. janandrussroundoz Post author

    Thanks once again Joanne. The cerviche was super easy to make and yummy to boot. I don’t know if I told you but I got a new camera about a month ago and I’m just starting to get my head around it. I was pretty pleased with these photos. Cheers from Jan xx

    Like

    Reply
  2. artandkitchen

    Your photos look more and more amazing, congratulations!
    The recipe sounds delicious… and it’s such a long time that I did not prepare cevice. I love your version with coconut milk and mint. I will add this to my to do list!

    Like

    Reply
  3. janandrussroundoz Post author

    Thank you artandkitchen-I appreciate your praise as I think your photos and blog are amazing. I’m slowly getting to know my new camera, it’s more complicated than the old one but I’m trying to improve. Maybe we can make cerviche together when Russ and I get to Basel xx

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

