More in love than ever


Lemon and Cumin Fish Out of the Oven

Lemon and Cumin Fish Out of the Oven

I’m pretty sure it’s 8 winters out of 9 we’ve made it to Coral Bay, but as I don’t count stuff like, I can’t tell you exactly. Just like I can’t say for sure how many times I’ve been to Bali or across the Nullarbor. It just doesn’t matter to me/us.

So, I think it’s 8 and have to say, I’m more in love than ever with the place. We’ve been here a week already, have had almost perfect weather and caught just enough fish and squid to feed ourselves and keep it interesting.

This is the earliest we have ever arrived here and while we’ve found the park almost empty, more big boats are going out each day than we’ve ever seen before. We wonder if the more serious fishing people come and go before the huge influx of “grey nomads” from “down south” arrives in June for the winter. Whatever the reason, it’s lovely for a change.

Down on the Finger Jetty

Down on the Finger Jetty

As we’ve fished, we’ve also seen more (and bigger ) sharks than we’ve seen other years. So far, it’s stopped me swimming and snorkelling but that might change in the coming weeks. I have a new camera and that’s kept me entertained as I try to make sense of the instruction book and it.

Lebanese Eggplant Salad

Lebanese Eggplant Salad

We’ve eaten well and are almost finished our fresh veg from Carnarvon-just a few tomatoes, a zucchini and some herbs left. They are bought so fresh, they last really well.

Last night I used my remaining eggplant,capsicum, tomatoes and parsley in a Lebanese Eggplant Salad. We had it with Cumin and Lemon Fish which was sensational and I’m posting the recipe here. Our fish was too large for our oven so Russ took off the head and tail which spoilt it a bit for presentation, but didn’t affect the taste!

Cumin and Lemon Fish

  • 1 whole fish, scaled and gutted (about 2kgs) Snapper type fish is good
  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced
  • 3 teaspoons cumin
  • 4 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil
Lemon and Cumin Fish Out of the Oven

Lemon and Cumin Fish Out of the Oven

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200c.
  2. Mix together all ingredients from cumin through to oil. Set aside.
  3. Slash fish a few times on each side.
  4. Lay out a large sheet of foil (you may need to join two like I did, then place a sheet of baking paper on this.
  5. Lay down half the lemon slices.
  6. Smear the fish on both sides and in the cavity with the spice mix, then lay on the lemon slices on the foil. Top with remaining slices. Seal the parcel, tenting it a bit at the top.
  7. Cook in the oven for 30 minutes or until 60c internally (just shove a thermometer through the foil, into the thickest part).
  8. Rest for 10 minutes in the foil parcel, then slide onto a large serving dish and spoon some of the juices over. I served the rest at the table in a small jug. I wish we had had crusty bread to mop some of the juices up too.

This fish was enough for us for our dinner last night and again today we had it cold with the leftover salad for lunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “More in love than ever

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

