Lemdarin Marmalade


Lemdarin?

Lemdarin?

I think I mentioned that Pam sent me home from the farm at New Norcia with a large bag of citrus fruit. I think I also said it was the love child of a lemon and a mandarin with qualities of both-sour and yellow like a lemon, loose skinned and segmented like a mandarin.

I planned to make marmalade but with Deb going into labour and the subsequent birth of Harry on Saturday the fruit got set aside in the bench until today. I lost a few fruit but ended up with 1.5kg to use.

Baby Harry is going home today, and we have left the new family alone to get used to that idea, so it seemed a good day to do a bit of cooking. I made some more pickled fish, then set about making my marmalade to a lemon recipe.

Lemon Marmalade

  • 1.5 kg lemons, scrubbed, sliced as thin as possible *see note at bottom
  • 4.5 litre water
  • 4.5 kg sugar
Lemdarin Marmalade!

Lemdarin Marmalade!

Method

  1. Place the sliced lemons in a large pan with the water, bring to the boil and cook for 20 minutes or until the peel is really tender.
  2. Add the sugar and bring to the boil, stirring constantly until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Boil hard for 25 minutes, then turn off the heat and rest for 10 minutes before ladling into hot jars. Seal at once.

*Note: you can remove the pips and discard, or remove and place in a muslin bag and add to the marmalade, or (as I did) leave them in and remove with a slotted spoon when they rise to the top.

I’ve ended up with around 18 jars (of various sizes but mostly quite large) of marmalade, so expect a jar of marmalade from me if I see you!

9 thoughts on “Lemdarin Marmalade

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

