Kununurra Saturday Market


Kununurra Market

Kununurra Market

Nothing gets us out of bed and organised quicker than a local market. The last few we’ve been to have been really small, so we weren’t expecting much from this one either. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of it and variety of stalls-a good little market.

As usual we were on the lookout for fresh vegetables and books. I think there’d been a bit of price fixing go on between the second hand book vendors with used novels starting at $5. We generally like to pay about $1 at garage sales, church fetes and op shops so weren’t paying that! I think the food vendors had done a bit of price fixing too, with those containers of market food (Indian curry and rice, red thai curry and rice, pad thai etc.) around $16. It’s time like this when I’m so happy Russ and I can turn out a fairly authentic tasting Asian meal ourselves at a quarter of the cost! Times like this too, when I’m happy I emptied my pantry of spices and sauces and condiment and brought them along.

Pumpkins and cucs Armenian cucumber on top right

Pumpkins and cucs Armenian cucumber on top right

Kununurra is an irrigation area and grows lots of melons and pumpkins so plenty of those on sale. We bought local bananas, dried chick peas (we bought some last time we were here), green pap paw and limes (pawpaw salad in the next day or two!) and a thing called an Armenian cucumber which looks most like a long, pale bitter melon but is most closely related to honey dew melon and is used as a cucumber. The texture is very crisp and the taste great! I’ll let you know what we do with it.

Back at home (well, the van IS home) I decided I better make room in the fridge for my new purchases, so am currently making ratatouille with the stuff I bought to do so at the farm gate the other day.

Farm Gate Ratatouille (my way)

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 large onions, diced chunky
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 eggplant (about 600g or so) cut into 1 1/2 cm cubes
  • 1 medium zucchini, cut into similar size to eggplant (I used a yellow one this time)
  • 1 red capsicum, diced
  • 1 green capsicum, diced
  • 2 440g cans whole peeled tomatoes, chopped (I like to chop my own as I think they are a better product than the pre diced ones)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • Plenty fresh basil
  • Juice of half a lemon (taste and add more if you want)
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste (we LOVE black pepper)
Farm Gate Ratatouille

Farm Gate Ratatouille

Method

  1. Heat the oil over a medium heat and cook the onion and garlic until the onion is softened but not browning.
  2. Add in the eggplant, zucchini and capsicums and cook stirring for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the chopped tinned tomatoes and salt, bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer gently about 30 minutes.
  4. Remove from the heat and add in the remaining ingredients.

We eat ratatouille hot, cold, we poach eggs in it for brunch/lunch, pop little meatballs in it, take it on picnics-we love it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

