The Gulf of Carpentaria


Snap! This life size (????) model is found near Normanton Visitor Centre.

Snap! This life size (????) model is found near Normanton Visitor Centre.

We spent two quiet days in Mt Isa-mostly because nothing much is open on Sunday. We did find the club open and go out for Mother’s Day Lunch-I’m not Russ’s mother or so he tells me, so it was nice of him to offer and it was fun.

I started out driving Monday morning, but had to stop and let Russ take over. I’d taken the only sleeping pill I owned (given to me for the flight to Vietnam) because the awning was rocking and rattling in the wind throughout the night. Just after I took it-Russ got out of bed and took the awning in! I actually slept most of the 6 hours we drove, so can’t report at all on the trip only waking up when we stopped for lunch and a break or two.

Water views either side

Water views either side

It was starting to look like we’d have to drive the whole way to Normanton or even on here to Karumba, but we finally spotted a likely looking track off the road and went in for a look.

The track was actually the old road and crossed the Flinders’ River-it was not just good, it was beautiful. Once again we had it to ourselves so decided to set up camp right on the causeway so we’d have water views both sides.

Karumba is lovely. We are close to the river and boat ramp where we’ll launch our boat. The park is big but clean and well run and everyone seems so friendly.

Cooked by Brian who runs the park. $17 for 1.2 kg.

Cooked by Brian who runs the park. $17 for 1.2 kg.

The first thing I did on arrival was go buy 1kg (actually weighed 1.2kg) of fresh local prawns for our dinner.

Prawns with wasabi mayo and salad for dinner

Prawns with wasabi mayo and salad for dinner

They were cooked ones which I don’t buy often, cost $17 and tasted amazing with a wasabi mayo and salad!

Today we took the boat out for our first fish in ages. We caught a few grunter (or spotted bream) and I caught my first ever threadfin salmon, so it’s fish for us tonight! We had to trow back a good (but undersized) mulloway, and something I caught that we couldn’t identify. Better to be safe than lose all your gear to the fisheries! We saw our first saltwater croc today. At around 4 metres, he was a pretty big one!

Saltwater croc around 4 metres

Saltwater croc around 4 metres

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know what you think-I'd love to hear from you!

